h1

Why I Work at the Coffee Shop

July 3, 2008

Currently I’m a freelancer.  Why do I choose to work at the local coffee shop?

Reason #5

My desk is a mess!  If I were only a little less lazy I could spend five minutes and organize my computer desk.  Everything is stacked in piles including mail, pens & pencils, sticky notes, post-it flags, CD’s, photos, and a microphone.  I could clean it up, but why when I have a perfectly clean coffee shop to use as my office?

Reason #4

They make better coffee than I do.  I’m a cheapskate on coffee.  I purchase the generic brand coffee from the local grocer.  The ‘shop makes it much better and they make a little leafy design in my lattes.  Plus, the poppyseed scones are to-die-for!

Reason #3

Saves gas.  I don’t have to drive to work.  I can walk about a block to my favorite coffee shop.  Sometimes I’ll choose to drive a short distance to partake and sample other coffee shops.

Reason #2

Fewer distractions.  When at home I’ve got other things I could do than work on the computer:

  • Look at all those books on the shelf that need to be read!
  • Oh, I’m behind on my laundry!
  • Doggone it, the dishes are piled up again.
  • Cool!  I could watch a Batman movie marathon today!

Reason #1

The barista chicks are HOT!

3 comments

  1. I don’t even drink coffee, but I have been known to hang out at the nearest coffee shop with a laptop for all of the same reasons. Except no way I am walking 25 minutes to get there, not even for free Wi-Fi.


  2. And if you visited different coffee shops you could entertain yourself by pretending to be someone totally barking and see how the staff react. Guy who can’t stop telling himself off under his breath, guy with a twitchy eye, nervous guy who can’t stop looking over his shoulder, guy with an imaginary friend. The possibilities are endless.


  3. AtHomeDaddy: Good incentive to open a shop nearby!

    Tara: Don’t think I haven’t entertained myself with such antics, and then some!



Leave a Reply

