h1

Writing On The Road

July 28, 2008
Computing on the road

One of the nice things about freelance work is that I can take it with me wherever I go. This weekend I made a trip to Dallas, TX to visit some family, watch a Texas Ranger ball game, and most importantly, visit the new mecca: the new Dallas Cowboys Stadium!

But even though I’m on a short holiday, my work goes with me. I have deadlines to meet and continuing work that needs attention for upcoming deadlines. So you can see on the left that even though I spent a fabulous night with dad and cousins indulging in Italian food and multi-bottles of vino, I had to get to work the next morning. My dad’s RV became my portable coffeeshop, and let me tell you, the coffee was flowing. There might have been an occasional Monster energy drink or three during that burst of production.

Not only am I enjoying seeing family and cousins I haven’t seen in 20 or more years, I’m also melting under the hot, HOT Texas sun. The temperature so far has been an average of 102 degrees every day. So my RV coffeeshop is also my refuge from the burning sun. Thank the coffee gods that the air conditioning works. And I pray that the Texas Ranger ball game tonight will be tolerable. I’m sure a few brewskis will help keep the internal temperature down.

I return home to the nice, cool, and moderate climate of Portland tomorrow. I have also found that working in airports with Wi-Fi while waiting for planes, and tip-typing away on the plane during its flight is a good way to keep up with work. I am thankful that I have a slim lightweight laptop that acts as my best friend on the road. It keeps me company. Shows me photos of my girls when I miss them terribly. Lets me know what’s going on in the world while I am isolated in the Texas flatlands. And it entertains me by playing DVDs. This is definitely the best employee I’ve ever had!

Leave a Reply

